Die Welt am Sonntag

Below is a machine translation (courtesy of Google) of an article that appeared on page 73 of Die Welt am Sonntag (a major quality German Sunday newspaper) on 2 January 2005.

Click here for the original in German in the bagophily.com website.

Click here for the original article on the Die Welt website.

Not at all badly

The spitting bag makes career - artful arranged, it rises to to the culture bag and collecting object

of Soenke Krueger

Do you belong to the aircraft passengers, who take the mouth rather fully? Those gladly a souvenir from the airplane to go along leave? Some Faible for modern art have? If the answer reads "", you should fly in the next months with the British airline Virgin Atlantic. And right after entering the bag in their front seat pluendern (if you are unobserved: also your seat neighbor), in order to secure itself one of the most interesting implements to have those at present in international aviation are - a spitting bag.

Whereby the speech is not here from a boring paper bag with airline Logo. No, Virgin Atlantic brought, as world-wide the first airline, a limited edition out of artful printed on spitting bags - art to the Kotzen as it were. 20 versions, everyone of another designer arranged, are in the next six months on all flights of the airline on board.

After successful booty course you should keep yourselves away for the remainder of the flight from turbulences, in order not to have to supply the spitting bag to their actual purpose, because that would reduce the collecting tank value with a gush. The fact that the culture bags will ascend already soon to looked for valuable articles is considered as safe. In the on-line auction house eBay were already paid over 200 euro for individual Brechbeutel from common series production.

The collecting tank municipality re-clamps the entire globe and is represented also in the InterNet - to find under search words like "Speisackerl" or "air disease bag". Also foreign variants like "Pohoinvointipussi" (Finnish) or "Egészséguegyi Tasak" (Hungarian) are represented.

One of the most interesting Web addresses is www.kotztueten-museum.de. The there Tuetothek is equipped with approximately 200 objects, which are provided with affectionate accompanying texts again. Thus the spitting bag is praised of Dan air as particularly user friendly: "width opening, easily in the handling and December duck colors, which do not divert from the actual happening". The imprinted compass is interpreted as warning at flight beginners, "not against the flight direction to excavator buckets".

The Website www.airsicknessbags.de supplies deep views of the Tuetologie . 1481 bags are here met, among them schmuckstuecke like that spitting bag of air Afrique, which becomes affected from a bearing, and which "Prullenzakje" the Dutch KLM, which is printed on with a Kaenguruh - a marsupial mammal, haha -.

On www.bagophily.com one dedicates oneself to rather practical questions. One experiences that the Indonesian Riau airlines has the smallest flying bag on board (11 x 16.8 x of 7.9 centimeters), which seizes straight times 1.2 litres, while the international standard is at 12,4 x 24 x of 8 centimeters and/or scarcely 2.4 litres. Keeps the size record national the American airlines (25 x of 38.5 centimeters), whereby the question is not answered whether the above average bag volume permits conclusions on a flight style particularly below average of the pilots.

The most extensive ejection to the topic is to find under www.vomitorium.co.uk. Here no bag question remains unanswered. Like that the most important manufacturers are listed and all Hollywood works, in which spitting bags play a role, for example "Independence Day". A whole chapter is occupied with folding guidances. That seems to be necessary, because the imprinted operating instructions do not follow standards. Thus air recommends new Zealand to fold the used bag away from itself while Icelandair guesses/advises to fold the filled container in body direction. British Airways does not give a decided folding direction recommendation, suggests however folding the bag once while Japan airlines suggests a double folding.

Also the question, which one does with the bag after the filling up procedure, is answered. With Somali airlines are instructed kuebelnde passengers by bag print to place the spitting bag on the cabin floor. With Pakistan international is recommended to push it under the seat with British Airways and air new Zealand may one it to the hostess into the hand press.

And at Lufthansa? On a speituete of the first generation it meant still: "throw after use not from the airplane, but close and on the soil place." German perfection, which inspires. Advocate finds the Lufthansa bag also because of their successful Design. It has something "from a gediegenen eyeglass case", was jubilant years ago the satire magazine "Titanic", "alternatively in dezentem grey or olive-brown, on the top right a Kranich in the circle, which is to obviously say us: Herons must we all times! Nevertheless: For the intended purpose the bag is actually beautiful too. Who hands itself over already into an eyeglass case?"

With as much zuspruch it does not surprise that in the meantime even a technical book on the market is. "Izmiruebel, the book to the bag" from the feather/spring of the Tuetologen Gerd petrol Rieke is long to the standard work is promoted (Alabasta publishing house). It impresses on 48 sides with illustrations of exotic bags (about of interflight bags handmarked by the pilot) and with special customer (for instance in the chapter concerning bag closing systems). And it uncovers bad states, by revealing that neither Federal Institution for material testing nor donation ever operated goods test seriously bag customer.

In the conclusion chapter weights the author, who dedicated its book to August von Kotzebue that before the start of an airplane only life jacket and oxygen masks are ritually explained. The flight companions would have to demonstrate also the correct use of the bag, demand it: "that would be service! With some suitable words (for example and released us from the evil ) one could show goodwill."

The service thought is high-held calculated against it at the Low Cost societies. Like that - despite the saving potential - still no cases are well-known, in which passengers were requested to bring along own Brechbeutel. The German cheap flier Hapag Lloyd express encourages its guests to express complaints equal from the belly and his bags accordingly printed on: "stands thank you for your criticism", there in large type characters. Innovative.

Articles appeared on 2 January 2005

Home

Top

Search

Swaps

Contact

Mamud.com

Die Welt am Sonntag

The article below appeared on page 73 of Die Welt am Sonntag (a major quality German Sunday newspaper) on 2 January 2005, in the Travel section. Stimulated by Virgin Atlantic's support for designer bags, the article covers the increasingly popular hobby of bag-collecting, and reviews several websites, including bagophily.com.

Click here for a computer translation into English.

Click here for the original article on the Die Welt website.

Gar nicht übel

Die Spucktüte macht Karriere - kunstvoll gestaltet, steigt sie auf zum Kulturbeutel und Sammelobjekt

von Sönke Krüger

Gehören Sie zu den Fluggästen, die den Mund ziemlich voll nehmen? Die gern ein Souvenir aus dem Flugzeug mitgehen lassen? Die ein Faible für moderne Kunst haben? Lautet die Antwort "ja", sollten Sie in den nächsten Monaten mit der britischen Fluggesellschaft Virgin Atlantic fliegen. Und gleich nach dem Einsteigen die Tasche in ihrem Vordersitz plündern (wenn Sie unbeobachtet sind: auch die Ihres Sitznachbarn), um sich eines der interessantesten Utensilien zu sichern, die derzeit in der internationalen Luftfahrt zu haben sind - einen Spuckbeutel.

Wobei hier nicht die Rede ist von einer langweiligen Papiertüte mit Airline-Logo. Nein, Virgin Atlantic hat, als weltweit erste Fluggesellschaft, eine limitierte Edition von kunstvoll bedruckten Spuckbeuteln herausgebracht - Kunst zum Kotzen sozusagen. 20 Versionen, jede von einem anderen Designer gestaltet, sind in den nächsten sechs Monaten auf allen Flügen der Airline an Bord.

Nach erfolgreichem Beutezug sollten Sie sich für den Rest des Fluges aus Turbulenzen fernhalten, um die Spucktüte nicht ihrem eigentlichen Zweck zuführen zu müssen, denn das würde den Sammlerwert mit einem Schwall mindern. Daß die Kulturbeutel schon bald zu gesuchten Wertobjekten aufsteigen werden, gilt als sicher. Im Online-Auktionshaus Ebay sind schon über 200 Euro für einzelne Brechbeutel aus ordinärer Serienproduktion gezahlt worden.

Die Sammlergemeinde umspannt den gesamten Globus und ist auch im Internet vertreten - zu finden unter Suchbegriffen wie "Speisackerl" oder "Luftkrankheitstasche". Auch ausländische Varianten wie "Pohoinvointipussi" (finnisch) oder "Egészségügyi Tasak" (ungarisch) sind vertreten.

Eine der interessantesten Web-Adressen ist www.kotztueten-museum.de. Die dortige Tütothek ist mit rund 200 Objekten bestückt, die wiederum mit liebevollen Begleittexten versehen sind. So wird die Spucktüte von Dan Air als besonders benutzerfreundlich gelobt: "Breite Öffnung, leicht in der Handhabung und dezente Farben, die nicht vom eigentlichen Geschehen ablenken". Der aufgedruckte Kompaß wird als Warnung an Fluganfänger interpretiert, "nicht gegen die Flugrichtung zu kübeln".

Tiefe Einblicke in die Tütologie liefert die Website www.airsicknessbags.de. 1481 Beutel sind hier versammelt, darunter Schmuckstücke wie jene Spucktüte von Air Afrique, die von einer Gebärenden geziert wird, und das "Prullenzakje" der holländischen KLM, das mit einem Känguruh - einem Beuteltier, haha - bedruckt ist.

Auf www.bagophily.com widmet man sich eher praktischen Fragen. Man erfährt, daß die indonesische Riau Airlines die kleinste fliegende Tüte an Bord hat (11 x 16,8 x 7,9 Zentimeter), die gerade mal 1,2 Liter faßt, während der internationale Standard bei 12,4 x 24 x 8 Zentimeter beziehungsweise knapp 2,4 Liter liegt. Den Größenrekord hält die amerikanische National Airlines (25 x 38,5 Zentimeter), wobei die Frage nicht beantwortet wird, ob das überdurchschnittliche Tütenvolumen Rückschlüsse auf einen besonders unterdurchschnittlichen Flugstil der Piloten zuläßt.

Der umfangreichste Auswurf zum Thema ist zu finden unter www.vomitorium.co.uk. Hier bleibt keine Tütenfrage unbeantwortet. So sind die wichtigsten Hersteller gelistet und alle Hollywood-Werke, in denen Spucktüten eine Rolle spielen, beispielsweise "Independence Day". Ein ganzes Kapitel beschäftigt sich mit Faltanleitungen. Das scheint nötig zu sein, denn die aufgedruckten Gebrauchsanweisungen folgen keinen Standards. So empfiehlt Air New Zealand, die benutzte Tüte von sich weg zu falten, während Icelandair rät, das gefüllte Gefäß in Körperrichtung zu falten. British Airways gibt keine dezidierte Faltrichtungsempfehlung, schlägt aber vor, die Tüte einmal zu falten, während Japan Airlines eine doppelte Faltung nahelegt.

Auch die Frage, was man mit dem Beutel nach dem Abfüllvorgang tut, wird beantwortet. Bei Somali Airlines werden kübelnde Passagiere per Tütenaufdruck angewiesen, den Spucksack auf den Kabinenboden zu stellen. Bei Pakistan International wird empfohlen, ihn unter den Sitz zu schieben, bei British Airways und Air New Zealand darf man ihn der Stewardeß in die Hand drücken.

Und bei der Lufthansa? Auf einer Speitüte der ersten Generation hieß es noch: "Nach Gebrauch nicht aus dem Flugzeug werfen, sondern schließen und auf den Boden stellen." Deutsche Perfektion, die begeistert. Fürsprecher findet die Lufthansa-Tüte auch wegen ihres gelungenen Designs. Sie habe etwas "von einem gediegenen Brillenetui", jubelte vor Jahren das Satiremagazin "Titanic", "wahlweise in dezentem Grau oder Olivbraun, rechts oben ein Kranich im Kreis, der uns offenbar sagen soll: Reihern müssen wir alle mal! Trotzdem: Für den Verwendungszweck ist die Tüte eigentlich zu schön. Wer übergibt sich schon in ein Brillenetui?"

Bei soviel Zuspruch verwundert es nicht, daß inzwischen selbst ein Fachbuch auf dem Markt ist. "Izmirübel, das Buch zur Tüte" aus der Feder des Tütologen Gerd Otto-Rieke ist längst zum Standardwerk avanciert (Alabasta-Verlag). Es beeindruckt auf 48 Seiten mit Abbildungen exotischer Tüten (etwa ein vom Piloten handsignierter Interflug-Beutel) und mit Sachkunde (etwa im Kapitel über Beutelschließsysteme). Und es deckt Mißstände auf, indem es enthüllt, daß weder Bundesanstalt für Materialprüfung noch Stiftung Warentest jemals ernsthaft Tütenkunde betrieben haben.

Im Schlußkapitel beschwert sich der Autor, der sein Buch August von Kotzebue gewidmet hat, daß vor dem Start eines Flugzeugs nur Schwimmweste und Sauerstoffmasken rituell erklärt werden. Die Flugbegleiter müßten auch den korrekten Gebrauch der Tüte demonstrieren, fordert er: "Das wäre Service! Mit einigen passenden Worten (zum Beispiel und erlöse uns von dem Übel) könnte man Goodwill zeigen."

Der Servicegedanke wird dagegen ausgerechnet bei den Low-Cost-Gesellschaften hochgehalten. So sind - trotz des Einsparpotentials - noch keine Fälle bekannt, in denen Passagiere aufgefordert wurden, eigene Brechbeutel mitzubringen. Der deutsche Billigflieger Hapag-Lloyd Express ermutigt seine Gäste gar, Beschwerden gleich aus dem Bauch heraus zu äußern, und hat seine Tüten entsprechend bedruckt: "Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik", steht da in großen Lettern. Bahnbrechend.

Artikel erschienen am 2. Januar 2005

Home

Top

Search

Swaps

Contact

Mamud.com